Sunday, January 17, 2010

across the blueseventy desk

Yes, it's a free plug, but we cycle (some of us to work) and we've all been abused, knocked off, honked at, had beer bottles thrown at us, etc etc while out riding.

Rather than yell back someones has the idea of politely trying to get their message across:

The new jerseys at send a message to
aggressive drivers.

Check it out...

The team at blueseventy

Wednesday, January 13, 2010

NeroTX Approved by NCAA

The NCAA has given the thumbs up to blueseventy’s neroTX swimskin, ensuring that swimmers can wear the suits at forthcoming Conference meets and the NCAA Championships. Furthermore, swimmers with a banned swimskin can trade it in for a 50% discount on a new neroTX suit.

The new suit features the very latest in modern textile fabric technology, making as much up to the minute technology as possible available to the swimmer.

CEO Steve Nicholls commented: “The body suit has been banished, but a new generation of suits is now ready to take their place. The neroTX has been extensively tested by scientists and swimmers. Whilst staying within FINAs latest guidelines, we’ve produced a super light weight, compressive, hydrophobic material that repels water effectively and drastically javascript:void(0)decreases drag.

“We’ve applied the same passion for design and innovation to the neroTX that turned the record breaking blueseventy nero into the top selling race suit in the world.”

The neroTX is made from a unique highly compressive, ultra low drag, water smart fabric. blueseventy's exclusive fabric is produced using a warp multifilament treated nylon, with an extremely thin yarn count. The entire neroTX range is ultrasonically welded, further eliminating the drag that’s created from traditionally sewn suits

Nicolls added: “We are committed to bringing innovation into swimming and have also developed a carbon fibre goggle that is lighter and faster than any other goggle we have tested. We’re constantly looking at technology from other sports that we can apply to the water to help swimmers go faster.”

The brand new Nero range will be available now. Swimmers with a 2009 nero swimskin are eligible for 50% off the price of a new suit and should visit for more details of the unique buy back scheme.

Tuesday, January 5, 2010

Youngest ever Channel swim relay team announced.

Twelve successful candidates have been selected to take part in a relay team to become the youngest ever to cross the English Channel.

Using the Torpedo children's wetsuit and blueseventy open water goggles, the team could not be better equipped for the exciting challenge ahead.

Taken from

Many more people have climbed Everest than have swum the English Channel. And although our team will be crossing as a relay they still must overcome two massive challenges: the English Channel is the world’s most revered sea crossing AND the team are all only 12 years old!

The swim will take place sometime between August 17th and August 24th 2010 (depending on weather). The team will consist of 8 children however only 6 will be swimming, the other two will act as reserves.

The swim will begin at 03.00am. The first swimmer will have to set out in pitch darkness (although we will have a light trained on them from the pilot boat and they will be wearing lightsticks). Then after exactly one hour the next swimmer will go in and so on until they arrive in France some 15 hours later. As well as darkness they may well have to overcome jelly fish stings, sea sickness (for some swimming may come as a relief!), salt ingestion, the cold, fatigue, ferries and floating debris of the unsavoury kind. The swim could take anywhere from 8 to 20+ hours depending on the weather, tides and of course the children’s individual performances.

Mike Oram, founder of the CS & PF (Channel Swimming and Piloting Federation), will be piloting our boat. He has been a pilot for nearly 30 years and has guided more than 500 solo or relay swims across the Channel.

Alexander Chantler, from Quenington; James Elmer, from Keynsham; Drummond McMillan, from Portishead; Eleanor Aris from Hawkesbury; Lewis Clarke from Bristol; Danny Pirret from Bristol; Angus Rowley, from Bristol; Lucy Davies from Weston-Super-Mare.

Congratulations to them all!